highlights indonesia

As a largest archipelago country in the world, Indonesia has more than 17.000 island which only about 7.000 are inhabited. Sumatra, Kalimantan (Borneo), Java, Sulawesi and Papua are the mainland of Indonesia. The capital city is Jakarta which is located in Java island. Moreover, Indonesia also has small islands such like; Nias, Mentawai, Bali, Lombok, Sumbawa, Karimunjawa, Halmahera, Morotai, Seram, Banda, Kei, Biak etc. Those beautiful islands become tourist destination both for domestic & international visitors.

Indonesia has the 2nd longest coastline in the world, it is about 99.083 km and has the 3rd largest Atoll reef in the world, precisely in Taka Bonerate National Park, Makassar, southern Sulawesi. Indonesia is also the 9th country that has the most National Parks in the world, consist of 54 Parks spread from Sabang to Merauke. 

It has 139 volcanoes, 3rd of the most in the world after America & Russia. Some of the active volcanoes become international tourist destination such as Krakatau in sunda straight, Mount Kerinci in West Sumatra, Mount Gede Pangrango in West Java, Mount Semeru Bromo and Kawah Ijen park in East Java, Mount Agung & Batur in Bali island and Mount Rinjani in Lombok island and many more.

It is one of the countries crossed by the equator. It crosses the area of West Sumatra, Riau, West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, Maluku, and Papua. Therefore, Indonesia only has two seasons because it is located in the equatorial region with a tropical climate. Based on its wide geographical location, Indonesia's territory is divided into 3 time zones, namely WIB (Western Indonesia Time) GMT+7, WITA (Central Indonesia Time) GMT+8 and WIT (Eastern Indonesia Time GMT+9). From the westernmost island to the easternmost island there can be a time difference of up to 8 hours.